What I have learned about being a novelist – 5

guys2-2The working author faces a number of challenges. Most students who love to read don’t give these a thought—until they take my fiction writing classes!

Today Ben shares what he’s learned:

Ben2014Writing is hard work. I have learned much besides this, but that fact rings truer every second I spend writing. No matter how much fun the process is, it will always be work.

Besides that, I have learned 30 pages is much harder than I had originally thought. Because of this, I have a newfound respect for authors who write books of 100, 200, 400, 1,000 pages! To be able to carry a story for that long without losing your audience is a skill not yet known to me.

A last thought I have would be on procrastination. Sometimes the best ideas come at 4:00 a.m. when all you want to do is sleep. Other times, in fact for most of the time, a better idea will come when you do the work before the last day. That way, you edit before you turn it in so there aren’t any blatantly obvious mistakes.

Ben is heading to Biola University, majoring in biochemistry and mathematics. His specialty is comic writing, and how we have enjoyed his funny stories.

1 Comment

What's on your mind?

