Back in the saddle and writing!

WritersOnVacation-DebbieRidpathOhi-Inkygirl
Isn’t this the best comic? When I’m up and writing, this is exactly how it is.

So I’m home from my travels. This means I’m free to return to the bewitching online world. Hooray!

But there’s a catch. I can stay here only as long as I write. No words, no Internet.

Because it’s summer and none of my pitiful excuses hold water. I have not one but two books to finish. What good are 30,000 words (and 20,000 words) of half-finished story?

So if you see me here and on Facebook and on Twitter, I’m writing. 2,000 words a day. Before I can get online.

Hey, it’s Snark Monday. How about some strong encouragement? Can we say, “Ouch” and “Oww” and “Oi” together? Oh, yes.

“Perseverance is more prevailing than violence; and many things which cannot be overcome when they are together, yield themselves up when taken little by little.” (Plutarch)

The pen is mightier than the sword, but not if I don’t use it. Word by word by word.

“Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.” (Louis L’Amour)

Getting started, the hardest part. One word leads to another.

“Two questions form the foundation of all novels: ‘What if?’ and ‘What next?’ (a third question, ‘What now?’, is the one an author asks himself every 10 minutes or so; but it’s more a cry than a question.) Every novel begins with the speculative question, What if X happened? That’s how you start.” (Tom Clancy)

So we keep answering these questions and a novel grows.

So here I’ll be through the summer months. Let’s write pages and pages together!

Comic used with permission from Debbie Ridpath Ohi at Inkygirl.com.

1 Comment

What's on your mind?

