Uncategorized

Turning a (Scary) Page

So tomorrow is the first day of school and I, with summer writing goals unmet (never mind that they were, like, way too ambitious), have taken a big step: I’ve joined a writing group.

Like, a pay-for-membership writing group. People who mean business, coaching that is serious and focused and professional, writing group. In other words, accountability! For me, spending money, even a very reasonable amount = motivation to produce. It’s like being back in school, I tell myself.

Still, as I made my final pot of summer green tea (always at my elbow as I write), I had to smile. The Good Earth tea bag had this written on the tag: “The first and great commandment is: Don’t let them scare you.” (Elmer Davis, 1890-1958) Ha!

While I can’t agree with the great commandment part (being “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and your neighbor as yourself”), Davis has the second part exactly right. I’m not afraid of interacting with fellow writers, I fear doing less than perfect work. My biggest pitfall, the thing that paralyzes me. Alas for my scardy cat ways!

For those of you who write (or even if you don’t), check out Your Writers Group: Your Online Writers Conference. Sign up for the free email newsletter like I did and see what they’re about.

Now I’m off to school…to print my Welcome To The 7th Grade letter and practice my maniacal laugh.

Would you like to leave a comment?

