In Real Life · The Writing Life

The Power of Momentum

1Leisu81So a week into January I signed on for Jeff Goins’ 500 Word Challenge on Facebook. The goal was simple: write every day. For, like, a whole month.

This was a deep-breath undertaking, a desperate attempt to get back into the writing game. No splashy announcement. No cheerleaders recruited. Because I know myself.

See, once I start talking about something, I lose steam. Or I rest on my laurels. Or something. This time I was determined to plod along with the rest of the pack. Forget the novel, I would daily write something, anything.

At first it was straight discipline. Show up. Sit down. Write sentences. Follow-The-Daily-Prompt. Nothing creative, just words.

Wonder of wonders, the writing guilt vanished. I began to feel free.

A week in, something else happened. I began jotting ideas for my Darcy comic novel, fresh ideas, things I’d never thought of. I tried stuff. I had fun. I deleted older pages that plodded.

So I ended January with 7,000 finished words under my belt. Two chapters for the book, with a lot more in outline form. I have direction. I have vision. I can write during the school year. Hooray, I can do what I encourage my writing students to do.

Yes, hope is again alive and well. All because I showed up every day to write.

4 thoughts on “The Power of Momentum

  1. That’s what I do. I just show up at my computer and write on designated days. I feel a sense of accomplishment when I type the chapter heading and save the page. I have officially begun to write that chapter. Weird, huh?

    Like

    1. It didn’t help that I was heading in the wrong direction, with clunky, clanking material in my draft chapters. Once I hit the delete key and began casting around for alternatives, ideas began showing up. Weird.

      And now look at me. I’m writing for Jane Started It! and for this blog. Double weird. Or should I say double wonderful.

      Like

      1. Yes, it is wonderful. I’m looking forward to reading your ideas. With me, I have to unclutter my mind. I get distracted by my “to do” list. Usually, I try to do those things on Monday so that I can write Tuesday and Wednesday mornings. I can’t write at night. When I’m tired, my creative juices dry up.

        Like

  2. I have no choice but to write after school … and I don’t need to tell a career teacher what the mind is like at that time of day! For the longest time I dragged around each evening, worn out and DONE. But I’ve made some changes to my eating and seem to have a bit more energy. Another motivator is the fear of losing my forward momentum.

    Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

