A to Z Challenge 2014 · How to write Romantic Comedy · Romcom Alphabet Soup

Blog-o-mania A to Z

A2Z-BADGE-0002014-small_zps8300775cI’ve been plugging along with daily writing, and as a result my neglected blog has come to life.

Last week I learned about April’s A to Z Challenge. How could I refuse? Pressure to blog more? Bring it!

Yes, I know. It’s nuts. I’m nuts. But I signed up anyway.

I blame the euphoria from signing up for Camp NaNo, which also runs in April. That and my My 500 Words Facebook buddies, who also jumped in with both feet.

So April will be all about words. Lots and lots-o-words.

My A to Z theme is on the sidebar, short and sweet: Romcom Alphabet Soup.

In short daily posts I’ll be covering how to write romantic comedy (more or less) and what makes for a good story.

Ha, I can’t wait to see what I come up with. Because I’m counting on the power of the deadline, leaning heavily on what Henry said:

“The absence of alternatives clears the mind marvelously.” (Henry Kessinger)

Tuesday it begins.

LH-bio badge-lg

6 thoughts on “Blog-o-mania A to Z

  1. I wish you well in the A to Z Challenge. I thought about doing it but within minutes had 26 reasons why adding one more thing to the roster would be pure insanity. Don’t judge me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is insanity, and daily I question why I ever consented to do this challenge.

    I should have talked you all at Jane Started It into participating. That way I could divide the work by three…and I’d have maybe nine to do. But no, I didn’t think of that. So count yourself fortunate. 😀

    A to Z has been a motivator in tightening up the look of the blog. I’m discovering that this is an ever-changing process, as nothing on the web is static. I study other blogs and make adjustments.

    I spent much of Saturday doing the hardest part, that is, coming up with a list of topics. To illustrate some of my points, I’m going to do something truly deplorable: lift scenes from my own work. Gah. I never, ever use illustrations of my own in my high school classes. But it’s easiest for this application. I guess there’s a first time for everything,

    The more daunting challenge is Camp NaNo. I signed up for this with clearheaded, cold determination. One way or another, I need to produce six chapters in April, and this is the only prod that will work. Writing 667 words a day is easy. Writing that many on my Darcy novel, not so much. Off I go. If I’m going to succeed as a novelist, I must produce novels.

    Thanks for the encouragement, Susan. Step by step, day by day, we learn and grow. 🙂

    Like

      1. When I take on too much like this, I either bear down and produce, or I run screaming for the hills. (Why quit in an undramatic manner, right?) Thanks for the props, Robin. 🙂

        Like

    1. I feel your pain, Rebeccah. I have three unfinished novels, each bogged down around the 20,000 word mark.

      As so sequels, they have their own set of challenges. Especially if they’re follow-up sequels to your own book. If you were marvelously entertaining before, readers expect you to be even better with the next. Nothing like a little pressure!

      Thanks so much for stopping by. I hope some of my April ramblings will knock something loose and you’ll be able to get your momentum back. 🙂

      Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

