Snark Monday · Stuff and Nonsense · The Writing Life

Coffee, the writer’s friend

800px-A_small_cup_of_coffeeIt’s Snark Monday, and you might have noticed that this post did not come up first thing. There’s a reason for that. I write Monday’s post early Saturday morning, and on Saturday we had no coffee.

No coffee? A trip to Costco fixed that, but still. A morning without coffee? Is that possible?

I am a recent coffee convert. While traveling with a coffee-loving friend several years ago, I discovered the punch of a morning cuppa. Apparently I am not the only one to feel this way.

“Should I kill myself, or have a cup of coffee?” ― Albert Camus

Al, dude, choose life. One Venti Triple Shot Caramel Macchiato coming right up.

“I’d rather take coffee than compliments just now.” ― Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

What Louisa said. Good coffee beats lame flattery any day.

“Bring me a bowl of coffee before I turn into a goat.” — Johann Sebastian Bach

Caffeine, the friend of writers and composers. One cup is all we ask. Make Johann’s a Trenta.

“It is inhumane, in my opinion, to force people who have a genuine medical need for coffee to wait in line behind people who apparently view it as some kind of recreational activity.” ― Dave Barry

Preach it, Dave. Caffeine addiction is serious business. Poseurs, stand aside.

“I don’t really like coffee,” she said, “but I don’t really like it when my head hits my desk when I fall asleep either.” ― Brian Andreas

This was me learning to drink black coffee. Instead of coffee that tastes like a Snickers bar.

“Coffee in England always tastes like a chemistry experiment.” — Agatha Christie

Agatha knows best, but I must say that good British tea is out of this world.

Happy Monday! Even if it is a little late for a cuppa.

[Photo Credit: Julius Schorzman, Wikimedia Commons]

11 thoughts on “Coffee, the writer’s friend

    1. I start out the day with a cup of coffee and then transition to green tea. I enjoy a hot beverage, but if I drank coffee all day I’d be chattering like a magpie and bouncing off the walls. 🙂

      Like

        1. I have a thermos, adding hot water on my breaks. This way I always have hot green tea in my classroom, and due to long brewing time between refills, one teabag is used and reused all day. By the end of the day, it’s more like pale hot water, but that’s okay. I like the comfort of a hot beverage.

          Like

    1. Different processing? Obsession with quality? Since learning to drink coffee black, I’ve come to realize that quality makes a big difference. Whereas if I have it my favorite way (tasting like warmed-up mocha ice cream!), any type of coffee will do.

      Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

