An Encouraging Word · Artistic Cross-Training · The Writing Life · Walt Disney

A dream is a wish your heart makes…

So sang Walt Disney’s Cinderella, and as little girls we loved it.

But artistic dreams? Those need more than wishing to come true. Persistence, determination, and focused attention, these are the tools the grown-up uses to make dreams a reality. I bet Walt would call them his magic ingredients.

At this time of year I am often discouraged with my writing progress (or lack thereof). I am worn down with with teaching and often feel overwhelmed. The dark, rainy days here in northwest Oregon do not help. But although I am tempted to quit, I never do.

No, we shouldn’t lose heart, dreaming friends. Keep writing, keep creating, keep starting over. Who knows what the new year will bring?

WDisney-QuitTalking

WDisney-Impossible

WDisney-NotQuitting

WDisney-WhyWorry

2 thoughts on “A dream is a wish your heart makes…

  1. I certainly wish dreaming was enough. Tomorrow will be a writing day for me. I painted today – no, not pictures. I painted walls and doors. Not a very creative endeavor, but it does cheer me up to look at the fresh paint.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is nothing like fresh paint and a refurbished environment for inspiration. The cheer-up factor is key.

      When you have the decks cleared to write, you are the writing tornado. Like me, you are almost finished. Go, go!

      Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

