A to Z Challenge 2015 · An Encouraging Word · Johann Sebastian Bach · Mary Anne Radmacher

C is for Coffee

Celebrating the A to Z Blogging Challenge with quotations on the writing life.

7309925740_0d3baaa4e0_z
Bring me a bowl of coffee before I turn into a goat.

Johann Sebastian Bach

Gotta love this, because Bach is right. That one morning cup, small though it may be, sets me up for the day.

It’s not the caffeine as much as the significance. “Here we go,” coffee tells my brain. “It’s a new day dawning.”

As you have probably discovered, too much coffee does not improve productivity. Or anything else.

C is also for Courage, a thing coffee cannot impart.

Courage does not always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, ‘I will try again tomorrow.’

Mary Anne Radmacher

I love the thought that my quiet determination is courageous.

So are you ready (with coffee or without) to start this new day? And risk trying again?

 

Photo: trophygeek (Creative Commons Flickr). Image is link.

16 thoughts on “C is for Coffee

  1. There are no small cups of coffee here. I have huge cups that hold four cups of coffee. I always have one of those every day, and sometimes I have two, but they are decaf. Otherwise, I would vibrate right out of my chair.

    Love Bach. His music is cerebral, and his story is wonderful. He’s one of the very few great composers who wasn’t absolutely crazy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I agree. Bach might not consider himself sane, hounded as he was by deadlines and unceasing demands of his church council, but he certainly was. How he would marvel to know that he is considered one of the preeminent composers of all time.

    Coffee brings to mind good old Beethoven and his fiendish devotion to coffee brewed with exactly 60 beans. Here he is at age 48, looking like he’s visited Starbucks one time too many.

    Like

  3. My coffee imparts humanity, for which my colleagues and the world in general give many thanks.

    Love the Mary Anne Radmacher quote – it’s one of my favourites. Oh, and I love Bach, too, but I’m convinced he hated singers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can always use a shot of courage. Being a self-starter requires quite a lot of it. At work, deadlines are imposed and I jump to meet them. But when it’s all up to me? Very tough to face difficult work.

      Like

  4. Laura,
    I’m not a big coffee drinker but I have drunk “tinto” (Brazilian coffee also called “cafezinllo”) served in tiny glasses and I thought that was courageous. Also, I drank the coffee grounds of “Turrish” coffee (Turkey) in ignorance. That was just dumb. I thought it wasn’t mixed in well enough, didn’t know it was grounds! Every once in awhile I like a cappuccino. Crystal’s coffee with the foamy hearts made by her husband look good. I’m not sure about coffee but yesterday I had to dip into courage when I lost my completed post somehow and had to start all over! Where’s my coffee when I need it?! LOL.
    Amy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A lost post? Oh, Amy, no, no! The heartbreak, the agony! Because the deleted words, as you know, are often the finest we’ve ever written. πŸ˜‰

      I’ve been enjoying your adventures in world travel. The places you have been are so interesting and off the beaten track. Thanks so much for taking the time to share. Happy A to Z!

      For those who would like to check out Amy’s blog, here’s the link: Amy’s Adventures

      Like

  5. Love the quote on courage. I love coffee and tea. Many people make fun of decaf coffee, but I love it. Grind my own beans (as many as it takes!). Thanks for reminding me that the A-Z posts should be short. Joan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In my quest to reduce sugar intake, I have learned to drink coffee black. I know, unthinkable sacrifice! Because I used to say that the perfect cup of coffee was piping hot. And then you shove a Milky Way bar in the cup.

      I can be taught, and I have learned that quality matters when you’re drinking coffee black. How I smiled when I found that Bach quote. Some things never change.

      Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

