A to Z Challenge 2015 · An Encouraging Word · William Shakespeare

D is for Doubts

Celebrating the A to Z Blogging Challenge with quotations on the writing life.

5606183129_9695c06f9e_z
Our doubts are traitors,
and make us lose the good we oft might win, by fearing to attempt.

William Shakespeare

In combat, we hate two kinds of fighters: mercenaries (who are in it for the money) and traitors. Cowardice we understand, and while we dislike a deserter, we understand that too. But a traitor (a comrade we used to trust) is actively fighting against us, with the goal that we will fail.

Yes, fail. As in self-sabotage, which plays on our fears and paralyzes us.

Why not call these self-doubts by Shakespeare’s name and kick them to the curb?

Photo: Pascal (Creative Commons Flickr). Image is link.

20 thoughts on “D is for Doubts

    1. Hi, auntyamo. Thanks for dropping by. I teach middle school (all subjects) and high school fiction writing, and collecting quotations to share with students is my hobby. The trouble was narrowing down my favorites. Well, and finding something for “X” and “Z.” 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Doubt kept me from writing until I was in my fifties. I didn’t think I could possibly write a book. The task was too big – too daunting. Today I published my sixth book. God made me do it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not one series but two. A huge accomplishment, Robin. I am so impressed at your drive and persistence. You write circles around me. 🙂 If you look in your rear view mirror, you’ll see me trotting (or plodding) in your wake. 🙂

      Like

      1. Thanks, but you are blogging on two different blogs, have one book nearly finished, and have two more in the works. I think I’m the one breathing dust here.

        Liked by 1 person

Would you like to leave a comment?

