A to Z Challenge 2015 · Agatha Christie · An Encouraging Word · John Updike · William Goldman

E is for Easiest

Celebrating the A to Z Blogging Challenge with quotations on the writing life.

7719696784_e89b12c510_z

The easiest thing to do on earth is not write.

William Goldman

Okay, so the very easiest thing to ignore is housework, right? On the other hand, one can stand a dirty house for only so long. Sooner or later I must deal with the gritty floor and the dishes and the piled-up trash. I call this sort of thing Reality Therapy.

But writing projects can remain quietly dormant for days or weeks, while I engage in mind-enhancing activities like watching television or cruising Facebook.

What I lose is even more precious than time. I lose momentum.

One problem is that the interruptions are generally far more enjoyable than writing, and once you’ve stopped, it’s exceedingly difficult to get started again.

Agatha Christie

There’s a danger if you don’t move it along steadily that you’ll kind of forget what it’s about, so you must keep in touch with it.

John Updike, on daily writing routines

How about you? What can you do today to keep the momentum going in your writing projects?
 

Photo: Bob Mical (Creative Commons Flickr). Image is link.

12 thoughts on “E is for Easiest

  1. I know, Roslynn, right? I am just returning from my advanced fiction writing class. Out came the timer and their free write notebooks. (They have the first 20 pages of a 30-page story due Thursday.) “Remember, I extended the deadline,” I told them, “because I don’t want crummy middle-of-the-night, unproofread work.”

    What I did was force them to work on their stories.

    And I forced myself along with them, this time working on the ending to the Darcy novel. What I wrote for those ten minutes was rough and stupid and awkward. And yet at the same time it was extremely valuable. Because I’m keeping the momentum going, I’m keeping my hand in the story.

    Well, the next easiest thing to do (besides avoiding writing and housework) is going for coffee. Good thing I don’t have writing friends living nearby.

    Like

  2. Not having writing dominate my life—there are those who would argue with my desire (and yours) for balance. Balance, a tricky business. Teetering between making my writing time count and having my non-writing time fully engaged with real people and their lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Momentum – oh man does this speak to me right now! For me, I am learning I let my momentum slip because I don’t think I’m worth it. Messed up way to think I know, but it applies to my writing, too. I make excuses and label them inadequacies but it still comes down to I don’t think it’s worth the time & energy to invest in me and the things that matter to me. *sigh*. Time to change that tape.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you, Laura. I’m having a lot of fun with the A to Z challenge but I know how easy it would be for me to lose the momentum. It’s a challenge in more ways than one. Many thanks for all your encouragement!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, how well I understand this struggle, i b arora. Don’t lose heart. You are not alone. Come join us. Really.

      An encouraging, supportive Facebook group for all writers, My 500 Words, is waiting for you.

      Many of those who comment here are members of this group.

      The founder, Jeff Goins, has a blog you might want to check out.

      Like

  5. We forget that Newton’s Law of Motion remains in effect whether we acknowledge it or not. Too long have I been dormant because I chose to put other things first, rather than a daily dose of discipline. I’ve decided that even if I don’t post daily on my blog, I will write daily.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Shelley, you are talented in so many areas: painting, photography, writing…

    It must be a challenge to keep your “hand in” with so many creative outlets. I have found that a little writing every day keeps me limber with words. Even if I’m only making a bullet list in my Whine Journal. 🙂

    Like

  7. I do have to keep my momentum going, but occasionally taking a couple of weeks of between books helps to refuel my creative juices. I enjoy writing; I never want it to be a drudgery.

    Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

