A to Z Challenge 2015 · An Encouraging Word

J is for Joy

Celebrating the A to Z Blogging Challenge with quotations on the writing life.

9355090806_80b6faabc7_z

The joy of writing has propelled me from day to day and year to year.

Ray Bradbury

It sounds trite, doesn’t it? The “joy” of writing. Sarcastic me says this with air quotes.

Sarcastic me has a lot to learn. Because joy is the thing that propels a story.

It’s the energy, the excitement, the momentum. When I lose sight of joy and wallow in self-criticism and doubt, my story is done for. Why? Because fear kills joy.

I’ve stalled out with enough stories to know.

The trouble with a lot of people who try to write is they intellectualize about it. That comes after. The intellect is given to us by God to test things once they’re done, not to worry about things ahead of time.

Ray Bradbury

I have a chapter to finish this afternoon. Instead of focusing on what I’m doing wrong, I want to lose myself in the sweep and swing of the story. Because while craftsmanship and hard work are important, it is joy that propels the writer.

 

Photo: Fredrik Rubensson (Creative Commons Flickr). Image is link.

13 thoughts on “J is for Joy

    1. Thank you for visiting my blog, Sue. I am just finishing the chapter, sitting in a living room that badly needs vacuuming, with company coming in just under two hours. So I’m in a time crunch and can’t (yet) answer every comment. So this is a quick hello.

      Time to close the laptop and clean the kitchen. Happy A to Z!

      Like

  1. Writing is like everything else. If you don’t enjoy what you’re doing (writing, playing music, teaching), nobody else will enjoy it either. When writing is a drudgery, reading that writing will be a drudgery, too.

    Go, go, go!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How right you are, Robin. No joy in the writer, no joy in the reader. Now who said this?

      Ah, thank you, Google. β€œNo tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.” ― Robert Frost

      Like

  2. I like this post, and it’s timely too. You see, I’m doing the A-Z challenge as well (A-Z of Really Cool Animals). I’m determined to do it, and be on time as we go. Well, my Mother died yesterday. Yet, here I sit. Keep on keeping on. It’s what she would have wanted. When it was time to do my daily blog last night all I wanted to do was wallow and cry. Well, I did that too, but then I just wrote my post and felt better for it afterward. I knew if I caved in to depression I’d be done for. So I found some joy in thinking about Mom. She would have been proud. πŸ™‚ Peace

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Jeanne, I am so sorry to hear this news. Cry all you wish, you have every reason. My heart hurts just thinking about the enormity of your loss.

      And by all means, make your sweet Mom proud. You are her girl, and you represent the very best of her accomplishments. All her hopes on earth were summed up in you, her beloved daughter. Hugs to you, Jeanne, and thank you for visiting my blog. I am humbled to think that my words have been even a tiny help to you.

      Like

  3. Yes, there is a quiet joy when things come together. Then there is the loud joy, when you don’t plan for them to come together and the words marinate and come there on their own! that’s cool!
    Amyyyyyy

    Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

