A to Z Challenge 2015 · An Encouraging Word · Dorothy L. Sayers

O is for Occupation

Celebrating the A to Z Blogging Challenge with quotations on the writing life.

16018971290_29cde1ed2f_z

A human being must have occupation,
if he or she is not to become a nuisance to the world.

Dorothy L. Sayers

Though I am loath to admit it, I do need occupation. That is to say, work. You know, a job. But it’s more than just the necessary paycheck. I need to be challenged, to be made to interact with people and find solutions to problems. Work forces me to grow.

I am quite skilled at doing nothing.  I’d rather read books, or analyze movies, or sail back and forth in a little boat, gazing overhead at soaring birds and clouds. (Or sleep—hey, I teach teens, okay?) But life is more than a just a job and housework. You and I have been given the privilege of being creative.

My choice to write, therefore, is a choice to work—on my own without a boss or manager. How else will my daydreams come to life for others to enjoy?

Write it. Shoot it. Publish it. Crochet it, sauté it, whatever.
Make.

Joss Whedon

Besides, who wants to be bored and therefore risk becoming a nuisance to humanity? Although there are days…

 

Photo: Matthias Ripp (Creative Commons Flickr). Image is link.

13 thoughts on “O is for Occupation

  1. Gotta love Dorothy L Sayers. So often she just nails it.

    For kids there is an exciting game, usually risked during road trips when there is not enough to do: Let’s See What We Can Do To Get Mom Upset.

    (It’s grand fun, until Mom decides to pull over and “cleans house.”)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And I, being at school, am thinking of kids who are deliberately taunting. They have agendas too, I guess, the primary one being to eliminate boredom. But kids grow up and move away. Adult coworkers and family members kind of don’t.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Roslynn, I had a sabot very much like this. While other kids were busy with athletics and dance lessons, I was happily spending solitary hours sailing up and down the marina. No wonder I am so good at daydreaming!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I recognized early on that I accomplish more when I’m too busy than I do when I have a day off. Being overly-busy makes me organize and compartmentalize. I make lists, and I check the items off.

    That being said, I’m glad I don’t have one full-time job now. The routine had grown very old and was sapping my creativity. Now, there are four days a week when I don’t answer to an alarm.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember having one free day—Friday—that was set aside for writing. Oh, the wonder of leaving Bible study on Thursday (having fulfilled my responsibility to teach the home school students), knowing that I would have the next day all to myself for writing. I still feel this way about three-day weekends. Which have been in short supply of late.

      Like

  3. Holidays don’t help me at all right now, because Mel’s home. I spend every minute with her that I can. In a little over two months, everything will change. She’ll be gone, just like Mandy. Yes, I’m sad, though I’m really happy that God put her and Dylan together. They are two peas in a pod.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Parenting is both heartwarming and heartbreaking. And it’s important to “finish” well, meaning that we hide our tears and bless our darlings as they happily venture out on their own.

    I remember being dumbfounded when I heard that my mom ran crying into the house after Don and I left the wedding reception. I was focused on my future, my widening horizons. What reason was there to cry?

    I know better now.

    “He must increase, but I must decrease.” This was true for John the Baptist and also of my role as a parent. I step back as my sons go forward. Wah!

    Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

