A to Z Challenge 2015 · An Encouraging Word · Charles H. Spurgeon · Douglas MacArthur

Q is for Quitting

Celebrating the A to Z Blogging Challenge with quotations on the writing life. 15703375152_e12ea2a683_z

Age wrinkles the body, quitting wrinkles the soul.

General Douglas MacArthur

There is a big difference between quitting something you dislike (piano lessons) and quitting something you truly love (writing).

One brings joyous relief, the other quiet despair.

Ah, but did you truly quit? Or did you simply stop for a while?

Quitting is fundamentally different from stopping.
The latter happens all the time. Quitting happens once.
Quitting means not starting again—and art is all about starting again.

David Bales and Ted Orland, Art and Fear

Think it over. Are you able to find the strength to face that abandoned project you truly love? And start again?

Let’s have Spurgeon weigh in:

There is hardship in everything except eating pancakes.

Charles H. Spurgeon

And people think the Victorians were boring…

 

Photo: Elvert Barnes Photography (Creative Commons Flickr). Image is link.

12 thoughts on “Q is for Quitting

  1. I quit basketball after three years because, though I enjoyed it, I was really bad at it. I couldn’t make the worst high school team in the country, so I decided to stick with what I did well – cheerleading. Basketball was a waste of my time and energy.

    Writing is different. I would keep writing even if no one read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That was pretty awesome how you posted Q and I didn’t even realize it until I read your own comment. I’m still trying to figure out what my Q post is going to be, so I’m pretty envious right now.

    Loved the quotes on quitting. I tend to be a chronic stopper when it comes to some things. I take a break until the itch comes back, and then I give it another shot with more gusto!

    Liked by 1 person

Would you like to leave a comment?

