35-Day Author Blog Challenge 2015 · Productivity Tips · The Writing Life

Day 6: My writing process

Going for another 3000 words. Again.
Laptop, notebook, scraps of paper…

So you want to know about my writing process? Today’s prompt says that you do. So here goes.

I am a rewriter. This sorry truth means that I must rework everything I write. Everything! Emails, Facebook posts, chapters in my novel, and most certainly this blog article.

Because I do this, it takes a long time to write. Too long! I’ve challenged myself today to get this article finished and posted before the school day begins. (So I have, like, ten minutes before I open the door to students. Go, Laura, go.)

I need my writing to go “live” in order do the best editing. I don’t know why this is–my early “training” in fan fiction? There’s just something about seeing an article formatted that changes things up. Even here, the photos I use, the captions–everything works together to create the finished product.

Words come at varying speeds. Best days: scribbling on receipts or paper napkins, as ideas flow madly. Good days: sentences straight to the laptop. Harder days: words cranked out longhand in a notebook (no stopping, no backtracking) using a ten-minute timer.

“Flow” is the objective–that “surf-the-wave” thing. Most often it comes when I make myself throw words on the page, kind of like warming-up. The truth is that I get my best ideas while I am writing–like now! Not while I am thinking about writing.

Five minutes! Will I make it? You know what, I will. And if you’re reading this, I have. All because I forced myself to sit down and think while writing. Pushing the “Publish” button now…

See you tomorrow! If you’d like to see what the other 35-Day Challenge participants are blogging about, you can find their blogs here.

8 thoughts on “Day 6: My writing process

    1. It’s taken some time to admit that I rewrite e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g. (Except for the grocery list. That I forget to bring with me!) Nowadays I roll my eyes and dig in. Might as well have something to rewrite…

      Thanks for stopping by, Shanan!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great job, Laura!! Fast, efficient, bold letters – you did it! It takes me hours!
    I am going to challenge myself today too! The problem for me is I’m not following the prompts! I’m doing my regular posts so I’ve got to think out something and keep changing the title and etc…But I’m going to give myself an hour! Let’s see if I can do it!!
    Amy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amy, It usually takes hours. SIGH. Writers’ block is a topic I know too much about, so ideas spun themselves rapidly into words, which I collected before school. Good luck on your hour. It’s quite freeing to finish a post at the beginning of the day instead of at the end. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely yes! I remember in the early days of blogging, when you couldn’t edit something that you’d posted without the EDITED notation being displayed. As if it was a journalistic crime. “Oh. She EDITED what she wrote. So this must be a retraction.”

    No, it was because what I posted sounded clunky. Or I pasted something in and forgot to change the verb tense. 🙂

    Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

