35-Day Author Blog Challenge 2015 · Mercy's Embrace novels · My Writing Friends · Pamela Aidan

Day 22: Talk about an ideal endorsement!

Pamela Aidan, author and friend
Pamela Aidan

My first books carried an awesome recommendation–that of beloved Austen author, Pamela Aidan. Anyone familiar with the genre will recognize the name, and will probably say that Pamela’s books are among her favorites.

I blush to tell you that I did not have to ask. Pamela offered to endorse my books simply because she is my friend. And, well…she likes my writing.

Pamela’s Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman trilogy retells Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice from Mr. Darcy’s point of view. She did a masterful job.

TTRD-DAASAT

Simon and Schuster thought so too, and offered Pamela a hefty advance to re-release her books under their imprint.

Talk about a real-life Sleeping Beauty story!  We were so excited for her. Many authors in the Austen genre say that Pamela Aidan’s books inspired them to try their hand at writing.

If you haven’t read this series, and if you would enjoy a beautifully-written, true-to-Austen retelling, why not give it a try?  The book covers link to Pamela Aidan’s Amazon page, giving purchase information. But your library probably has copies–yes, they are that popular.(They were featured at Costco, okay?)

But if you go the borrowing route, you might have to wait. The last time I checked our main library’s database (oh, several years ago), there were thirteen (13) holds for her first book…

Mercy's 1 backmatterHere is a snapshot showing Pamela’s endorsement of Mercy’s Embrace: So Rough a Course:

“The world of Jane Austen’s Persuasion fairly sparkles under Laura Hile’s deft and humorous touch. While Elizabeth Elliot retains the abrasive edges of Austen’s original, you’ll be as delighted as I was to see her develop into a woman deserving of a good man’s love.”
~PAMELA AIDAN
author of
Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman

So that’s my endorsement story. You can check out the other challenge participants’ posts here. Thanks for stopping by!

7 thoughts on “Day 22: Talk about an ideal endorsement!

  1. Wow! What a great story! And I loved the endorsement .”..sparkles under a deft and humorous touch” I think I know a little bit more about that period than I originally thought. I haven’t read many but looking forward to this one. Congratulations! October is a great month for debut!
    Amu

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pamela is a marvelous writer; her books are delightful. And yes, her kind endorsement took my breath away. Along with the six-figure advance from Simon and Schuster. To my knowledge, the only writer in the Austen genre to be so generously courted.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Gayle. I had forgotten how good Pamela’s books are until the reread. I wanted to give the series to a graduating high school student and decided to read them over a single weekend. (Not fair, I know, to devour years of Pamela’s work in so short a time, but her portrayal of Darcy pulled me in!)

      Liked by 1 person

Would you like to leave a comment?

