35-Day Author Blog Challenge 2015 · Book Promotion · Editing · Think like a businessman

Day 27: Platform Growers

My youngest son (at 4 years old) called these "Robot Climbers." Photo: Jan Truter (Creative Commons Flickr)
My youngest son used to call these called these “Robot Climbers.” Photo: Jan Truter (Creative Commons Flickr)

A solid platform can be likened to a network of high-voltage electric towers. You know, the grid. For an author, a platform enables a longer reach, which in turn generates buzz. And, we hope, sales.

Successful indie authors advise the following:

  1. Release books consistently, two a year
  2. Blog regularly and engagingly about topics with universal appeal
  3. Grow a mailing list and put out a quarterly newsletter
  4. Utilize promotional tools like BookBub, including periodic price mark-downs, to gain exposure

The challenge lies in the execution of these! Because book production is the engine that drives the bus, I am finding ways to write consistently during the school year. Two books a year? I’m doing it backwards! One l-o-n-g book every two years is where I’m at with my new release. Oh well.

Next weekend I’m set to dive into the mailing list thing. Watch the sidebar for details. As for today, ha…

It’s the start of my ‘Edit Lockdown Weekend.’ Go, Laura, go!

  • No school today
  • Dinner already made
  • Pomodoro timer at the ready, should I struggle with staying on task
  • No laundry! No housework! No errands! (Because I have a “noble” excuse!)

So far, so good. I’m even “on time” with this blog post. I hope your Friday is a good one!

6 thoughts on “Day 27: Platform Growers

  1. I know, right? This weekend is dedicated editing (a task that will continue until the book is released) with the goal of nailing down that elusive Final Page Count for my long-suffering graphic designer.

    Next weekend, the mailing list–or at least a link so that people can sign up.

    The wind has come up and a storm is blowing in. Rain is unwelcome in your part of the country, but here it’s long overdue. A gray and rainy day is perfect for digging in to writing.

    Like

  2. Great post! I joined the clean writing group but haven’t had time to explore it yet. You know, I’ve had a couple of people leave me after a year when I sent out ads for promotions for my book. Kind of bothers me that when I offer periodic price markdowns I lose people on my list. They are not pushy.They just let people know. Well, good luck on editing!
    Amy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Part of it could be the frustration of an overflowing email inbox. Maybe some of the people who unsubscribe from your list are those who follow you on FB without a reminder?

      I have heard so much about the importance of an email list, from so many different sources, that I have to believe it’s important. That’s for next week, not now.

      That Clean Indie Reads is a busy group. I’ve been learning a lot.

      Happy weekend, Amy!

      Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

