35-Day Author Blog Challenge 2015 · Faith · Looking Back · Sepsis Recovery Girl · Still Alive! · The Inside Story

Day 34: When ‘Shake It Off’ takes a while

ProvidenceICUIn nine days, it will be six months since I was admitted to ICU. Septic infection (urinary tract infection plus blockage caused by kidney stones) caught everyone by surprise. For five days (three of them while sedated on a ventilator), my body struggled to win the fight for life. And yet here I am, back in the classroom and building strength. God is gracious, truly.

“You know you almost died,” one of the doctors said. I’m not sure I believed him. After all, I was not in any pain, I was just weak–very, very weak. My poor book manuscript would have died with me, a mere five chapters from the end! I have every reason in the world to embrace life–and to finish it.

Even so, recovery has taken longer than I expected. Not that I wasn’t told how it would be (12-18 months), but I am Miss Shake It Off. Or rather, I used to be.

My new name is Sepsis Recovery Girl. Faster than a parked locomotive. Able to leap tall buildings using the elevator. Whose head no longer feels as if there is a gyroscope whirling inside. At least, not at the beginning of the school day. But by the time students go home? I gratefully seek refuge on the sofa for a couple of hours. I creep upstairs for bed at 7:30.

Today’s prompt asks me to reflect on my expectations for the Author Blog Challenge. The most prominent expectation was that my book would have been released by now. I had not reckoned on the toll teaching would take–still. There’s only so much available energy in a day, and when I spend it all, I’m done.

Climbing stairs is simple--but there are so many! Photo: Ishan Manjrekar (Creative Commons Flickr)
Climbing stairs is a simple process, only one at a time. But there are so many!  Photo: Ishan Manjrekar (Creative Commons Flickr)

On the other hand, Darcy By Any Other Name is now in pretty good shape. I’m hoping the Table of Contents pagination won’t take very long to have done. Same with the spine and back cover design. An end-of-October release? We’ll see. In the grand scheme of things, a couple of additional weeks don’t really matter.

One day left for the Challenge. After that, I will need to come up with my own topics. Thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Day 34: When ‘Shake It Off’ takes a while

    1. If I only could sleep in! But no, I wake up between 4:00 and 5:00 in the morning. About a week ago I gave up and decided to go to bed radically early. At the end of a full school week, I can say that this has made a difference.

      We are both survivors, you and I. Every new day IS a gift. Happy weekend!

      Like

        1. I’m glad you are easing back gradually. Stress at school is like being that frog in the slowly heating water. Soon it’s almost boiling and there we are, still swimming in circles. 🙂

          Like

  1. Well Laura, I for one am glad that you survived, and not just because I want to read the end of the story. LOL You are a beautiful, loving woman with so much to give. Without even meeting you, I know that you have touched the lives of so many with your kindness. Hang in there Lady! Life is good! Love, Jen

    Liked by 1 person

Would you like to leave a comment?

