An Encouraging Word · Looking Ahead · Robert Louis Stevenson

My One Word for 2016

Happy New Year! It’s time for resolutions and goals–and as usual I am rolling my eyes. I am prone to over-commitment!  And then abandoning my resolutions when I become overwhelmed. A one-word goal keeps things simple and focused.

BuyIn-2016For 2014, my word was READY. Even though I kind of wasn’t.

For 2015, I chose ENGAGE. As in stepping out, joining the conversation. And in spite of health setbacks, I did.

For 2016, I’m taking things to the next level with  BUY IN. Okay, so it’s two words, but still. This is plain old COMMITMENT, but with a kick. When we spend time and money, we’re serious.

As for writerly resolutions, two new titles are in the works for 2016: Sir Walter Elliot’s Marrying Well for Fun and Profit (blogged at Jane Started It!) and another lighthearted romp (as yet undecided). I’ll begin posting that Sunday nights at Beyond Austen sometime in March. And this time? I’m writing the ending first, not last! (I always struggle with endings.)

Consistency is the key.  I have 30 minutes in the morning and again after school–and Saturdays. Feed the pipeline, as they say in sales.

“Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.” -Robert Louis Steveson

Thank you, Panda Express
Panda Express says. “Time, once lost, can never be regained.”

Trust Panda Express to deliver a fortune cookie reminder: “Time, once lost, can never be regained.

How about you? Would you like to choose a word for 2015? Check out MyOneWord.org.

 

3 thoughts on “My One Word for 2016

  1. Listen. Listen to God. Listen to my heart. Listen to my friends. Listen to my body. Listen to my adversaries. Listen to my students. Shut out the chaos and listen to the quiet voice inside me.

    Like

  2. Laura, Happy New Year to you. Now about the ending first. How about just plotting the ending, the story is bound to change along the way and you may regret that you spent so much time on the end, or may not be able to use it. Just saying. Can’t wait for more stories. Jen Red

    Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

