A to Z Challenge 2015 · An Encouraging Word · Tom Clancy

V is for Victory

Celebrating the A to Z Blogging Challenge with quotations on the writing life.

4046266479_ae566810ed_z
Success is a finished book, a stack of pages each of which is filled with words. If you reach that point, you have won a victory over yourself no less impressive than sailing single-handed around the world.

Tom Clancy

This post, originally drafted for the 2015 A to Z Challenge, was not posted as scheduled on April 25th. Who knew that on that particular day I would find myself in Intensive Care with septic infection? Sedated and on a ventilator with a scary low blood pressure, fighting for my life?

And yet here I am. God is gracious indeed.

Ten days later I was home again, weak but determined to regain health. I returned to my teaching job in September. I began to write, a little at a time, in July.

My about-to-be-released novel? That almost died with me.

Who would have guessed that it would become even longer?

Today I am celebrating with two A to Z posts.

And isn’t the subject of this post uncanny? V for victory, both with the book and with everything else. Once the paperback cover art arrives, we’ll be good to go.

Laura Hile (1)

Photo: William Murphy (Creative Commons Flickr). Image is link.

Would you like to leave a comment?

