A to Z Challenge 2015 · An Encouraging Word · George S. Patton

W is for Win

Celebrating the A to Z Blogging Challenge with quotations on the writing life.

378670672_991193c590_z

Now if you are going to win any battle, you have to do one thing. You have to make the mind run the body. Never let the body tell the mind what to do. The body will always give up. It is always tired in the morning, noon, and night. But the body is never tired if the mind is not tired.

George S. Patton, U.S. Army General and 1912 Olympian

Ah, procrastination. It sounds so good, robbing tomorrow’s accomplishments in order to enjoy doing nothing today.

This post is a year late, due not to procrastination, but to my unexpected battle with septic infection. General Patton’s words are just as true now, and I am happy to be here to share them with you. Write on, brave friend!

Photo: Andrew (Creative Commons Flickr). Image is link.

6 thoughts on “W is for Win

    1. Of the two of us, you are the braver one with more guts. You enlisted in the Air Force. I was too chicken-hearted to even consider something like that.

      But yes, it is easier to grapple with a physical enemy or competitor than with your own self.

      Like

  1. You have that right, Laura. I am my own worst enemy, doubting myself at every turn. Thanks for your encouragement and I thank God that you’re still here to keep it going. I’m really looking forward to buying your book. Keep going and take care, Vivian.

    Like

  2. Right about tired all the time. I just give myself a goal…maybe just to post a review on a book or go for a walk…nothing big or glorious but I feel good if I make those simple goals.

    Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

