Book Giveaway! · Darcy By Any Other Name · New Book Release

“When what to my wondering eyes did appear…”

My son Ben, age 11
M-o-m, what? My Ben, age 11

This is my Ben, and when he sees this photo he’ll be rolling his eyes. And saying, “M-o-m,” as only a grown son can. This selfie was taken with his first digital camera. At age eleven, boys don’t care what they look like. That stupefied pose is deliberate.

Thing is, his expression mirrors how I’ve felt all week. When Darcy By Any Other Name was released on Kindle last Saturday, I could not wrap my brain around it. I’d been peering at the screen since 4:00 a.m, hunting for any last lingering typos in the manuscript, the kind spellcheckers cannot find. And reading instructions and filling in detailed information. Tax stuff and bank account numbers and prices–the kind of work that requires thinking.

You know when your eyes are strained to the dried-cement stage? Yeah, that. After twelve hours of fearful work–click the wrong thing and die! –I pushed the “Save and Publish” button, and my quiet world exploded.

Darcy By Any Other Name - Ebook SmallThere was my ebook–my own indie-published ebook–on Amazon. I’ve had three books traditionally published, but this was different. Everything is up to me! So I put up an almost laughable post at Facebook with the cover and a text link. Nothing swank or professional or even polished. Almost immediately people began buying.

People began BUYING my book!  Paying money for it, and then reading it. I know because reviews began to appear. Amazing reviews, thoughtful and well-written, from intelligent women. Tackling this book is no small feat (662 paper pages), even for a lightning reader like me.

How are people hearing about it? My social media friends. I have been too busy with a frantic school schedule to compose ads or tweets or anything. Facebook friends and Beyond Austen followers and lovers of Austen fiction have come to my rescue. Chautona’s blog review appeared Sunday night. Just Jane 1813’s review came up this morning. People I don’t even know are expressing excitement and are sharing my announcement post.

Ebooks continue to fly off the shelf. Here, I’ll show you.

The downward trend represents today's numbers--so far. The line continues to rise.
The downward trend represents today’s numbers–so far. That line continues to rise.

It’s crazy. Money is coming IN instead of going out–a glorious change in this household. People say that Facebook is impersonal, but I have not found it so. One day the sales wave will crest and flatten out. But thanks to my social media friends, today is not that day.

Hey, there’s an ebook giveaway running at Just Jane 1813. To enter, post a reply before midnight, May 29, 2016.

And if you’d rather not wait? Here’s the link to Amazon. Because the experts say I’m supposed to ask for the sale.

Laura Hile (1)

Hat tip to A visit from St. Nicholas by Clement Clarke Moore

18 thoughts on ““When what to my wondering eyes did appear…”

  1. Smiling and glad to be part of those who bought, read and posted a review. All that hard work did deserve some pay back.

    Your son is a handsome sort of fellow!!! smiles

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shelia, thank you! As for my son, that hair is still blond and still curls on its own. And what does he do? Has it cut short. “Do you know how much money women pay to get that color?” I tell him. He shrugs.

      I guess I should be glad he’s not vain. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. That’s OK, my son tried the buzz cut, and dyed the tips and let it grow very long, etc. Searching for his identity I guess. He, too, was a natural blond, although I had very dark hair when I was younger. And now he works with troubled youth!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Isn’t he? But Facebook pulled up that photo–instead of the book cover–and he’s seen it. His words (according to his wife): “Oh my gosh, Mom.”

    A man only has one mom. And he has to love her. Good thing. Otherwise, I’d be toast. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Congratulations. I knew it would do well. It’s a fantastic story! Combine that with the Laura Hile writing flair and we have a winning combination! You’re a superstar, Laura! Get used to it. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Diana, I’m grinning. See, I’ll believe I’m a superstar when I see the limo at the door. (At the moment we’re trying out car sharing. I walk to and from school. It’s a whopping seven blocks.)

      Oh, wait. I have to PAY FOR the limo service. Forget that!

      The true marker for having “made it” is the maids coming in the door. You know the maids, right? From Proverbs 31? I rise while it is still night–I do! at 4:30 a.m.!–and I would gladly prepare portions for them. If only they would show up! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Denise, thank you. Who knew I had so many social media friends? Who in turn are telling their friends?

    And now I discover that these friends are trying the first book of my series. I’d heard this does happen, but I was almost afraid to believe it.

    It’s been a week of hoopla. Time to return to the business of writing the next new book.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Laura, it’s really cool to see some of the steps you’ve taken to get this published! I like all the excited anticipation before actually clicking ‘Publish’. Your poor desiccated eyes. lol. You created a lot of contagious excitement and energy as you described how you got your book out there and the resulting response. Kudos! I also like the design and ‘Working on it” section of your blog page as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gloria, thank you! None of what you see here was done in a moment. I have tried stuff and revised sections of the blog and have rewritten my bio again and again.

      Darcy By Any Other Name took me a little over two years to write. Because of a health crisis, another nine months went by while I recovered, edited, and reedited, all while returning to full-time teaching.

      What have I learned? Keep your oar in the water and do a little when you can–every day, if possible. That’s how I have come this far.

      Also, I don’t travel the path alone. Writer friends have encouraged and advised me. Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Via Mari, thank you! I am honored (and a little bashful) when I find out that friends are interested enough to buy. (I know, ask for the sale right?)

      I took the proof copy for the print book to school yesterday, and my colleagues were over-the-moon excited.

      “Oh, I’m giving this to all my friends for Christmas,” said Susan–like I was doing her a favor by providing a good gift.

      I was speechless. They just laughed and called me too modest.

      Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

