Giving Thanks · Lest We Forget

Let Freedom Ring

 "Bridgetown" Photo: Gerrit Quast (Creative Commons Flickr)
Downtown “Bridgetown” Photo: Gerrit Quast (Creative Commons Flickr)

Tonight we will be heading downtown for fireworks. That’s what you get when your kids are in their adventuresome 20s. Scorning inconvenience, they want to go out and do stuff.

Freedom gives us this right. As citizens, we can peaceably assemble in public places. Although this is Portland, so weirdness will be present too. I’ll keep on the watch for the Unipiper. (That’s him below, yeah, in the Darth Vader mask playing flaming bagpipes.)

I also have the right to own property, to protect my family, and to freely share my thoughts. I can publish books, too, and send them out into the wide world. It’s an amazing freedom, one I hadn’t thought much about until this spring when I did exactly that.

Photo: Southwest Bible Church
Photo: SW Bible Church

And today I walked to church for morning prayer and coffee.  We sat down together like we do every weekday and prayed openly–in a lighted room in front of enormous plate glass windows. Freely, without fear of interference. (Except the sleepy kind. Coffee helps with that.)

Portland's own Unipiper (Photo: Twitter)
Here he is, Portland’s own Unipiper (Photo: Twitter)

In these troubled times, we dare not take our freedoms for granted. I can take no credit for them; I stand on the shoulders of my forefathers and fellow citizens, who scorned Liberty’s cost and dared to make a stand.

Freedom from tyranny is worth celebrating. Happy 4th of July!

Laura Hile (1)

This was also posted at Jane Started It!, a blog I share with my writing pals.

13 thoughts on “Let Freedom Ring

  1. You are so right, Sheila! Susan Kaye is a veteran. Robin Helm’s daughter is too, and Robin’s son-in-law is serving overseas in Japan.

    I heard a sobering statistic recently; can it be true? Only 12% of Americans personally know someone in the military? As a nation, we are emotionally distant from the cost of being free. Sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t want to talk politics but I don’t like what I see in society here in America. People are not even polite any more. Social media with the messages & tweets & texts have made communicating easier but also impersonal and there are no filters. People who are spewing trash and meanness do it anonymously (they believe) and so with no parent or figure of authority saying, “No-no” they have shut up any voice conscience in their minds. And we see policemen being killed? Yes all professions have bad eggs: teachers, priests, parents, etc. But to just kill for “color” is not the message any group should be approving of. Well, I have to get off the soap box. Have a good day.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. In the name of tolerance, we have become so frightfully intolerant–and so few people admit this. It’s sad. And scary. Not that escapist books like mine are a solution, but it helps to be immersed in a fictional world and to smile at human foibles…

        Like

        1. Yes, I do read for escapism. MY husband long ago decided that showing affection was, “Just not him”…but let’s not go there. But I adore Darcy whispering in Elizabeth’s ear, kissing the palm or exposed skin at her wrist, even touching the small of her back. Then there is Jamie Fraser who keeps telling Claire that she is the most beautiful woman he has ever seen….Sigh!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Since you’ve read Darcy you’ve probably figured out that for me, romance is talking–that delightful and witty meeting of the minds.

            A reserved, shy man summoning the courage to show affection? Love that too.

            Like

            1. My heart goes out to you, Robin. It has only been a month since I’ve seen my son’s children in NJ and I am chomping at the bit to go visit. Having reached 70 recently, though, I will no longer drive long distances on Interstates so I have to go when my husband can also travel. I am retired but he is not. I am sure, Robing, there are going to be lots of tears of Joy when you can hold those dear little ones in your arms. AND, no they are the brightest, the cutest, the most athletic when they are your own.

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh and as I sent July 4th greetings to Regina Jeffers she reminded me that she is an army brat. Then Joy Dawn King also told me about Robin’s grandchildren being in Japan. She didn’t mention the service connection. We were talking about grandchildren, a common string between us.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I had a conversation with my podiatrist in which he was telling me how annoyed he used to get when patients would come in and start to tell him or brag about their grandchildren. “They’re just ordinary children”, he would think. Then his daughter birthed his first grandchild and I ask him about Riley every time I go in and he laughs. But he does share photos and videos with me.

        Liked by 2 people

        1. As a girl I went with my grandparents to Photography Club — or something like that, I forget the name. People would sign up to use the slide projector and give a little talk on their travels. I don’t know why, but I enjoyed these presentations, usually of foreign travel or national parks. Even now I enjoy photos friends share on Facebook, because they share stories about what’s going on and I get to know them better.

          Like

    1. I’ve never held Scarlett – never even seen her, except in pictures. She was born December 8th, and she’ll be about 17 months old before the hubs and I meet her. I’m fortunate that my daughter is really good about facetiming with us. She tries to keep us involved.

      Liked by 1 person

Would you like to leave a comment?

