Artistic Cross-Training · In Real Life · The Writing Life

Garaged and never driven?

What is lurking in this garage? Hidden treasure?
Hidden treasure could be lurking in this garage. It’s being saved for…what? For “later”?

So I’m stuck at home on the sofa, convalescing. (I know, right? Still. Oh, sigh). Tell you what, I am bone weary of television.

But there are life lessons to be gleaned, even from daytime TV. Yesterday’s episode of Chasing Classic Cars delivered a stunner. In it Wayne Carini, host of the show, purchased a 1960 Chevrolet Impala from a widow. Her husband had bought it in 1981 and parked it reverently in the garage. The car was never driven again.

I'd be driving this car!
If I owned this, you bet I’d be driving it!

For decades this beautiful car sat covered up and waiting. All original, with perfect paint and chrome and very low miles. A convertible, for crying out loud! Heck, I’d be loading up my friends and heading for the beach!

Because a car is made for driving.

Oh, this couple enjoyed their Impala. The widow explained, with misty eyes, how she and her husband would sit in the front seat and talk, sometimes for hours. Her husband was sentimental; he’d bought this particular car because they’d had one when they first were married. He cleaned it and ran the engine from time to time. But take it out for a drive? That would decrease its value.

The husband was not a stingy man, merely prudent. And now it was left for his widow to sell. (Wayne Carini later took her for her first—and last—joyous ride in it.) As I was shaking my head, a thought occurred. What have I got tucked away in my garage? Not my real garage, but my writing garage? Ouch.

What treasures do I have that are hidden away? Half-finished stories, that’s what. Some of them are not too shabby. What am I saving them for? For “later”?

Because stories are made for sharing with readers.

This week for the first time I’m feeling more “normal” than ever. I can move about the house without being worn out or wobbly. I can read without becoming tired and losing interest. I guess these things mean that it’s time to do more than lie around. In fact, this blog post represents my timid return to daily writing. And I’m celebrating. Besides, it’s not worth it to wait for “later.”

 

Photo Credit: Steel Street Garage by Beverly Goodwin (Creative Commons Flickr)

5 thoughts on “Garaged and never driven?

  1. This story reminds me a bit of what happened to a relative of mine. Her grandmother had given her mother a beautiful, heirloom lace-trimmed linen tablecloth from “the old country” It had been carefully wrapped in tissue paper and set aside with the matching napkins for “a special occasion”. Her mother never used them, too afraid they would be stained or otherwise damaged. When her mother died, they found the tablecloth and napkins tucked away in a closet, still in the tissue paper. Unfortunately, the creases in the fabric had become rotted and brittle over time, and they broke into pieces when they were finally unfolded. She learned too late that linen ages better when it’s being used and laundered regularly.

    I’m so glad you’re feeling better. We’ve missed you.

    Like

  2. This reminds me a little of the Grace Hopper quote: “A ship in port is safe, but that’s not what ships are built for.” I’m so glad you’re well on the mend and returning to doing what you were built to do. You have been missed!

    Like

  3. Glad you are feeling better! I saw a sign this morning while working at an outreach event: “Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.” I’m glad you aren’t waiting for later!

    Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

